Fancy seeing you here…

Posted: May 9, 2013 by stinkypoo31 in Uncategorized

Yes, it has been a while and we know we haven’t been updating this blog as much as we should have. With the increase in events we now have this year, and we will endeavour to post a lot more frequently than what was done in the past year. Look out for a post in the next few days which will recap what we have been up to. I (Eiji) am going to try to use the mobile app to write some posts, with this being the first.

image

At the moment my S13 Silvia is off the road. It developed a good exhaust leak from a cracked manifold. Cracks are a pretty common occurrence for these stainless steel type manifolds. I also snapped one of my strengthened tie rod ends a few weeks ago at our local Motorkhana. We were all surprised about the break as all of the driving was slow in first gear.

image

If you were wondering, I did also swap my s14 engine with a red top s13 engine over Christmas. During a drift day in November, one of the bottom end bearings let go. Luckily I was able to find a cheap replacement.

image

The engine came with a t28 ball bearing turbo, as well as some other goodies. Hopefully it will be making more power than my old engine once it is repaired.

image

The crack on the manifold. It’s pretty common. The I think this one cracked due to the dump pipe. It was putting some pressure onto the turbo and most likely caused the crack.

image

I also picked up this broken turbo and hks manifold for a few dollars. I was planning to repair the manifold as the same time however I couldn’t remove the turbo becuase it had been spot welded together. Half of the weld snapped off easily but the other two were doing their job well.

image

In an effort to separate the manifold, I tried unbolting the rear housing.

Unfortunately, it is late at night and I can’t make too much noise, so i will have to leave this for another time.

Leave a Reply

