G1GP – Round 2 at Minami

Posted: September 8, 2011 by stinkypoo31 in Uncategorized

The Friday before Drift Matsuri has been reserved for a drift competition, just for international visitors. Named G1GP for Gaijin, the competition attracts a number of top drifters from other countries who have come for Drift Matsuri.

Photobucket

Since I was here, in Japan, the day before Matsuri, I thought I might as well make the most of it. The drivers briefing was relaxed but at the same time clear and professional.

Photobucket

The day started off with 3 hours of practise.

Photobucket

More than enough time for competitors.

Photobucket

Suenaga was observing practise and providing feedback for drivers.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Leigh Pidwell was performing well, unfortunately he had a major off which gave him trouble for the rest of the day.

Photobucket

Andrew Sunderland in his JZX90 was consistently drifting the same line over and over again.

Photobucket

Anthony Cece wrote off his car at Minami prior to this day.

Photobucket

After the practise session had finished, the competitors were provided lunch. A short qualifying session was run, with each driver given four runs to impress the judges. Alexi Smith from Noriyaro.com was providing commentary for the day.

Photobucket

I managed to qualify 8th in my low power 180.

Photobucket

The battle tree started nicely for me. Due to my qualification placing, I was battling someone of similar level. I did win against Jono, however I discovered I was twice his age.

Photobucket

I lost to Andrew Sunderland in the following battle and was knocked out. Sorry there are no photos of the battle, as we were stuck out in the middle of the track. The final battle was between Christian Pickering and Emily Louden. After a re-run the judges announced Pickering as the winner.

Photobucket

Even for a small minor competition, there were a large amount of trophies and prizes.

Photobucket

There was even a Janken tournament where everyone, including non-competitors walked away with a prize or two.

Photobucket

As part of the day a BBQ dinner was held.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

The international visitors were predominantly Australians, there were also people from the USA and the UK.

Photobucket

Alexi was taking on the D1GP arcade game.

Photobucket

These were the final standing for Round 2 of G1GP.

Photobucket

G1GP was and is an excellent event. It is different to the drift competitions in Australia. The tracks are great and the clipping points made battling more achievable. I was happy that my drifting was favorable to the judges. I was advise next time to power up the car. I am looking forward to competing again next year.

Comments

Leave a Reply

