China Radiator

Posted: November 12, 2009 by stinkypoo31 in Uncategorized

For around two month, I’ve been driving around with a cracked radiator in the R32. The radiator stop leak stuff seemed to help, so I only had to top up the fluid every so often. Since I am planning to take the R32 to the MGCC Motorkhana later this month, I thought it would be wise to replace the broken radiator for the event. Being broke as I normally seem to be, I bought the cheapest radiator from ebay last Sunday for $200 delivered.

Photobucket

And here it is!

Photobucket

The first thing I noticed was that the tanks were very square. I’m not sure if this will cause any issues with water flow as most other aftermarket tanks have angled tanks (I assume is for even flow/pressure).

The other thing I thought was that the radiator core didn’t look that straight, slightly bowing out in the middle. I don’t think the foam packaging is exactly straight but to me it seems fatter in the middle.

Photobucket

The drain plug is plastic. Not uncommon as so many others are plastic as well but this one has silver overspray. Not sure what that means, just my observation.

Photobucket

The welding looks better than what I can do.

Photobucket

It is thicker than the standard R32 radiator, which I didn’t really think about. I have heard that there are problems with a thicker radiator and space for the clutch fan shroud.

Photobucket

I guess I’ll find out how it fits when it is installed on the weekend.

Leave a Reply

